Perceiving “my” artificial object the Bottle (Unit 2 project)

Part 1 Perceiving my friend the Bottle

Hello Reader:

I’m sitting here staring and my object. It is full of liquid now and this quenches my thirst on these hot and sweaty hectic Thailand afternoons. I can sip from the this big bottle of plastic and feel refreshment and relieved and the homeostasis of my body, I feel like my body is getting back to normal. This bottle is hard and flexible to the touch and it is hard to see through the bottle due to the water still hight to almost the top. I can refill this bottle over and over for a while. But plastics do wear out just like us humans and they need to be replaced.

I love films about robots and their function in life and their thoughts about happiness, living forever. Now this bottle is not a robot and can’t talk to me but it shows me things. I am perceiving it in its ‘usable’ state. And this makes me think about the lonely used up bottles but for now I ‘need’ it. And it feels good to be needed, for me as a human, by other humans. But the lifelessness of the water bottle is strange and cold and very inhuman. Plastic objects started from a laboratory projects where they invented the types of plastics we use. So like the robot, they come from a cold, and empty world.

But this bottle is needed by me now. It doesn’t need me really. It could stay in itself until it eventually breaks down and the water flows out. So, I give it life because I am the human who needs this artificial creation. I actually wish I could talk to it, you know?

Leave a Reply

